September 13-16, 2018
Lexington, Kentucky

Our Board

Board members are patrons and volunteers who:

  • assist with the annual conference 
  • advocate for the conference throughout the state and region
  • liaison with community volunteers and partnering businesses 
  • contribute or raise funds for conference activities

All cash and in-kind contributions to the conference are fully tax-deductible. For more information about joining the board, please contact the conference director, Julie Wrinn at

Current Board Members

Melissa Young, PRESIDENT, director of Grants & Special Projects, Kentucky Council on Postsecondary Education

Ellen Soileau, VICE PRESIDENT, editor and writer, KET

Sylvia Ahrens, TREASURER, poet and former English faculty at Lindsey Wilson College

Sarah Chapman, office manager and registrar, Carnegie Center for Literacy and Learning

Randi Ewing, fiction writer and adjuct faculty, Transylvania University

Susan Kroeg, novelist and Professor of English, Eastern Kentucky University

Sonia Sanchez Series Committee

Patrice Muhammad, CHAIR, journalist and co-founder, LexTown Media Group

Asha French

Wild Women of Poetry Slam
Sara Volpi, SLAM COORDINATOR, Literary Outreach Coordinator, Western Kentucky University, and Coordinator, Southern Kentucky Book Fest