September 13-16, 2018
Lexington, Kentucky


The Kentucky Women Writers Conference awards a biennial Prize for Women Playwrights to bring more scripts by women to the stage. The winner receives a world premier production by a Kentucky theater for a paying audience, plus a cash prize of $500. The most recent submission period was December 15, 2016 - January 15, 2017. View contest guidelines here. If you would like to receive our bi-monthly listserv with updates about this contest and our other programming, please send your request to
Past Winners
Naomi Wallace was our first judge in 2011 and chose Keliher Walsh’s play, Year of the Rabbit, produced by Balagula Theatre in Lexington. Kia Corthron was our next judge in 2013 and chose Jo Morello’s E.G.O.: The Passions of Eugene Gladstone O’Neill, also produced by Balagula. Carson Kreitzer was our judge in 2015 and chose Lydia Blaisdell's The Silent Woman.